Sunday, 13 January 2008

Eleanor crosses

The Eleanor crosses were 12 lavishly decorated stone monuments, of which three survive intact, in a line down part of the east of England. King Edward I had the crosses erected between 1291 and 1294 in memory of his wife Eleanor of Castile, marking the route of her body as it was taken to London.

The twelve places

  1. Lincoln
  2. Grantham
  3. Stamford
  4. Geddington
  5. Hardingstone, Northampton
  6. Stony Stratford
  7. Woburn
  8. Dunstable
  9. St Albans
  10. Waltham (now Waltham Cross)
  11. Westcheap (now Cheapside)
  12. Charing (now Charing Cross)


No comments: