Saturday, 6 September 2008

John Wyndham

John Wyndham Parkes Lucas Benyon Harris was the son of a barrister. After trying a number of careers, including farming, law, commercial art and advertising, he started writing short stories in 1925. After serving in the civil Service and the Army during the war, he went back to writing. Adopting the name John Wyndham, he started writing a form of science fiction that he called 'logical fantasy. As well as The Day of the Triffids, he wrote The Kraken Wakes, The Chrysalids, The Midwich Cuckoos (filmed as Village of the Damned) and The Seeds of Time.


  • The Curse of the Burdens (1927) (writing as John Beynon Harris)
  • Foul Play Suspected (1932) (writing as John Beynon)
  • The Secret People (1935) (writing as John Beynon Harris)
  • Stowaway to Mars (1935) (writing as John Beynon) aka Planet Plane
  • The Day of the Triffids (1951) aka Revolt of the Triffids
  • Planet Plane (1953)  aka Stowaway to Mars
  • The Kraken Wakes (1953) aka Out of the Deeps
  • The Chrysalids (1955) aka Re-Birth
  • The Midwich Cuckoos (1957)
  • Trouble with Lichen (1960)
  • The Outward Urge (1961) (writing as Lucas Parkes)
  • Chocky (1968)
  • Web (1979)


No comments: