Tuesday, 21 October 2008

Bloom's Taxonomy

COGNITIVE LEARNING, one of the three domains from Bloom's Taxonomy, emphasizes intellectual outcomes. Benjamin Bloom identified six levels within the cognitive domain. The six levels are: knowledge, comprehension, application, analysis, synthesis and evaluation.

The Six Levels of Bloom's Taxonomy

  1. Knowledge is a starting point that includes both the acquisition of information and the ability to recall information when needed.
  2. Comprehension is the basic level of understanding. It involves the ability to know what is being communicated in order to make use of the information.
  3. Application is the ability to use a learned skill in a new situation.
  4. Analysis is the ability to break content into components in order to identify parts, see relationships among them, and recognize organizational principles.
  5. Synthesis is the ability to combine existing elements in order to create something original.
  6. Evaluation is the ability to make a judgement about the value of something by using a standard.

See http://coe.sdsu.edu/eet/Articles/BloomsT/start.htm

No comments: